Welcome to CALHOUN COMMUNITY HIGH SCHOOL! 

Important Announcements:

 

 

Students: CCHS staff members WANT to hear from you!   Please see below for a full list of how to contact staff members.  We miss you and want to see/hear what you’re up to!

Staff Member Best Phone Number Best Email Address Notes Facebook
Tim Allard ~ Superintendent 269-720-6407 Personal Cell tallard@calhounhs.org You may call or text me. Tim Allard
Ms. Laurie 269-565-2473 Forward to cell lruhstorfer@calhounhs.org Your return calls from me will say “Restricted” because the calls are forwarded to me. Send me a message on Messenger.
Dani Wilsey (269) 964-8430 Cell dwilsey@calhounhs.org Call, text, or email No
Pete Mathis (269) 753-9691 Personal Cell (call or text) pmathis@calhounhs.org
Elizebeth Case 269-282-4839 ecase@calhounhs.org
Tiffany Harris 517-920-3738 tharris@calhounhs.org
Rebecca Learman (269) 586-5660 Cell (call or text) rlearman@calhounhs.org I can also be reached using WhatsApp? with the same cell # rlearman14 (send me a message in messenger)
Rob Heuermann 269-330-3753 rheuermann@calhounhs.org
Julie Seifke 269/565-2466 jseifke@calhounhs.org Your return calls from me will say “Restricted” because the calls are forwarded to me.
Stacey Olsen 269 209-4184 Solsen@calhounhs.org Text the number listed or call. You can also leave a message through Facebook messenger. You can also leave a message through Facebook messenger.
Savannah Olsen 269 832-0952 SMolsen@calhounhs.org Text or call the number, I do not use Facebook
Derek Elliott delliott@calhounhs.org I have a prepay phone, but I check my email often.
Niaomi Curtis 269-966-9375 Cell ncurtis@calhounhs.org; Facebook Messenger Text or call my cell phone with questions or just to check in! You can also email or message me on Facebook.
Jessica Reid 517-745-6880 Cell phone jreid@calhounhs.org Email or text too.
Brian Demlow 269-788-2211 bdemlow@calhounhs.org Email or Text I am not on Facebook
Neal Zoellick 708-209-7982 nzoellick@calhounhs.org email works best, text if emergency

 

Week of Monday, March 30 to Sunday, April 5th CCHS Update:

As of Monday, March 30th, Governor Whitmer has not amended her stay at home order.  However, she indicated in an interview on NPR as well as her TV update today that she will be giving more information about the length of the stay at home order and what will happen with school later this week.  Please scroll further down the homepage for some Frequently Asked Questions and answers from the staff.

CCHS Families:

Please click on this link to take our technology survey.  If we are ordered to stay at home and deliver instruction remotely, we need to know what your connectivity is and how best to communicate with you.

https://forms.gle/61ppFd5A2PSdvGoz7

Click the link here for a table of FAQ’s that have been answered by staff members: FAQ's from survey

Graduation Frequently Asked Questions:

  1. If we are not able to return to school, will we still have a graduation ceremony.
    1. It is our hope to be able to hold graduation as planned. If, however, we are still required to stay home, we will look at a ceremony at a later date.
  2. How do I pay for my cap and gown if the school is closed?
    1. For now, email or text Mrs. Reid your height and weight and she can place the orders. However, we are not sure Caps and Gowns are essential, so we don’t know when they will be delivered.  jreid@calhounhs.org or text to 517-745-6880
  3. Will I have enough credits to graduate?
    1. This is a tricky one. To be 100% sure, you should reach out to Mrs. Harris.  You can email her tharris@calhounhs.org or by phone at 517-920-3738
  4. If I still need credits, how can I complete work?
    1. You can take classes online or contact your classroom teacher for work. Don’t hesitate thinking you don’t have to fulfill your requirements.

YOU MAY:

  • Go to the grocery store or pick up take-out food.
  • Go to the pharmacy to pick up a needed prescription.
  • Engage in outdoor activities like walking, hiking, running, biking.
  • Go to the hospital or secure any care necessary to address a medical emergency or to preserve your health or the health of a loved one.
  • Fill your car with gas.
  • Return to Michigan to a home or place of residence from outside the State.
  • Leave the State for a home or residence elsewhere.
  • Walk your pets and take them to the veterinarian for needed medical care.

YOU MAY NOT:

  • Leave the home to work unless your employer designates you as a critical infrastructure worker.
  • Participate in any public and private gatherings of any number of people occurring among persons outside a single household.
  • Visit someone in the hospital, nursing home, or other residential care facilities (with limited exceptions).
  • Go to the mall or to restaurants.

 

There is still no guidance on how the State will deal with the mandated time off.  For now we know that online learning is encouraged but not required.  We have written to our legislators requesting that they forgive this time and not extend the school year into the summer.  We hope they will vote on that this week.  We have also been assured that this year’s seniors WILL GRADUATE.  You still must have the minimum required credits (although we’re waiting for clarification about how 4th quarter is impacted).

Again, any questions can be emailed to tallard@calhounhs.org or you may call my cell phone at 269-720-6407.

Be safe and be smart.

 

Mr. Allard

Calhoun Community High School

765 Upton, Ave.

Springfield, MI 49037

Ph. 269-565-2483

  • Please click this link for important Senior information regarding Caps/Gowns, Graduation, etc.    Senior Info Cap & Gown deadline will be extended to April, when we return from the mandatory closure.

Enrollment for the 2019-2020 school year is closed.  Enrollment for 2020-2021 school year will reopen in July 2020.  Anyone interested in enrolling can pick up enrollment information in the main office.  We also require an original birth certificate with enrollment for new students.  If you have any questions or concerns please call the office at (269) 565-2460.


 

Have you lost credit in your current high school? Are you more successful in small learning environment with lots of support and one-on-one attention? If so, maybe you should checkout Calhoun Community High School. We run a safe and orderly school, offering the Michigan Merit Curriculum to non-traditional students who want to earn their diplomas and move on to college or work.

Why Choose CCHS

• Small class sizes
Online classes available
Dual enrollment at KCC, Tech Center, Cosmo Classes available
• 15 years of proven success with over 1,000 graduates
• Individualized learning catering to the needs of the student
Fewer credits required for graduation

Call (269) 565-2460 to pick up an enrollment packet!

Calendar

Mission

Impacting Students One Person at a Time
The mission of Calhoun Community High School is to provide a safe, healthy, supportive learning environment for students who have not found success in traditional high schools. At CCHS all students, with the support of staff, work to achieve their academic potentials and establish life goals, which include both employment and continued learning, as they become responsible citizens in a global community.